Oakland Yacht Club Finds a
Oakland Yacht Club (OYC) was incorporated in 1913 and counted Jack
London among its early members. The club leased land from the City of
Oakland and built a clubhouse at the foot of 19th Avenue, on Brooklyn
Basin--its home port for more than 60 years. In 1930, the Port of
Oakland opened the Estuary's first marina, the Oakland Municipal Yacht
Harbor, on a site adjoining the yacht club. OYC managed the facility as
a condition of its lease. During the 1970s, when the clubhouse and yacht
harbor were demolished by the Port for its Embarcadero Cove project, the
Oakland Yacht Club moved across the Estuary to Alameda, assuming the
lease and the management of the Pacific Marina, adjoining Marina
Village. OYC moved into its handsome new clubhouse in 1990.
"Walk Along the Water"
© Oakland Museum of California, used with permission.
Explore this Topic:
Yacht Club History - Oakland Yacht Club
back to history map